Marsh Award for International Ornithology

This Award is run in partnership with the British Trust for Ornithology and was presented for the first time in 2013.

The Award goes to an individual scientist whose work on the international stage has had significant influence on British ornithology, especially as reflected in the work of BTO scientists and volunteers.

The 2015 winner is Professor Dr Franz Bairlein

Professor Bairlein, currently Director of the Institut fur Vogelforschung in Wilhelmshaven, is one of Europe’s foremost ornithologists. His work on population dynamics and the ecology of migrant birds and migration directly addressed two of the British Trust for Ornithology’s strategic research themes and is increasingly addressing a third, the impacts of climate change. His scientific output is impressive, having authored or edited 11 books and over 250 scientific papers, all characterised by a meticulous, elegant approach to solving fundamental problems in ornithology.

Professor Bairlein also has a long association with the British Trust for Ornithology and with British ringers in particular. He has spoken at several conferences since the mid-1980s.

Professor Bairlein has particularly championed the use of ringing as a tool for studying birds. He has served on many scientific boards and advisory committees at both national and international levels including the European Ornithologists’ Union, the International Ornithological Committee and EURING – he has previously served as President at the latter two organisations. He is a great advocate of international collaborative projects many of which encourage the participation of volunteer ringers.

Professor Bairlein has a very welcoming attitude and approach to involving and supporting young scientists and volunteer ringers alike.

Pictured (above) Professor Dr Franz Bairlein working in the field


British Trust for Ornithology

The Nunnery
IP24 2PU
Tel: +44 (0)1842 750050
Fax: +44 (0)1842 750030
Registered Charity Number 216652



Previous Winners:

2014 Dr Manu Shiiwua

2013 Dr Lars Svensson